Around The Bookish World: Week-In-Review

Filed in News , The Smutty Lover Posted on August 23, 2013 @ 3:40 pm 5 comments

Welcome to this week’s news post! In this edition we have news on Barnes and Noble’s spat with Simon & Schuster is finally over, the sad passing of Elmore Leonard and more news in the world of publishing!

 

It finally looks like the year long spat between Simon & Schuster and Barnes and Noble is over.  The issue was over book pricing but there are no reports on how they settled it, but it will be good for those authors whose books were caught out in this disagreement which had some of their books not stocked in their stores.

 

This is so disappointing but I don’t think I will be buying any books from Cedar Fort who has dropped a book contract with an author called Michael Jenson due to the fact he is gay. He submitted a bio for his YA book which was contracted to them to be published. Cedar Fort responded that the book will not include his bio because it mentioned his live-in boyfriend. When Jenson disputed this, they then told him the book will either be published without it or he can buy back the rights to his book.

 

News in Brief:

Crime author Elmore Leonard  died earlier this week of a stroke, he was 87 and I am sad to hear about his passing because he wrote some good books.

If you use Calibre to help catalog your ebooks, there’s a new software program called BookONO which has just been released which will be competing for the crown to organise your digital bookshelves. However there is no version for Macs and its only available for PC.

This is an interesting article from The Week which has highlighted issues on books which use to be based on fanfiction and being adapted into movies. With the recent lackluster performance of THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS movie it does give light about the issues of these books succeeding in the big screen.

Goodreads has a good infograph on the physiology of giving up on a book and the top five books which people have given up on. 

 

 

Now for books to watch out for!

 

Chloe Neill’s latest CHICAGOLAND VAMPIRE novel – WILD THINGS has a cover and a blurb!

 

12958042

Since Merit was turned into a vampire, and the protector of Chicago’s Cadogan House, it’s been a wild ride. She and Master vampire Ethan Sullivan have helped make Cadogan’s vampires the strongest in North America, and forged ties with paranormal folk of all breeds and creeds, living or dead…or both.

But now those alliances are about to be tested. A strange and twisted magic has ripped through the North American Central Pack, and Merit’s closest friends are caught in the crosshairs. Gabriel Keene, the Pack Apex, looks to Merit and Ethan for help. But who—or what—could possibly be powerful enough to out-magic a shifter?

Merit is about to go toe to toe, and cold steel to cold heart, to find out.

 

 

I really enjoy Kathryne Kennedy’s fantasy romance. Her latest looks like its another fun installment in her RELICS OF MERLIN series.  EVERLASTING ENCHANTMENT is slated for release at the end of the year.

 

17344007

Kathryne Kennedy’s newest installment in a beloved series sparkles with sorcery and seduction…

Sir Gareth Solimere, knight of King Arthur’s Round Table, has been trapped inside Merlin’s relic for centuries, cursed until he finds his one true love. When he finally finds her in the unexpected form of a beautiful were-panther named Millicent Pantere, he has to use all of his charms to try to make her love him in return. But if he manages this feat, will he finally be free to live a normal life

 

 

 

And finally we have Sophie Jordan’s latest YA book – THE UNINVITED which looks like an intriguing premise!

 

 

13645645

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Has


Has is a bookaholic and feeds her addiction whenever she can. She usually can be found lost in a Romance or an Urban Fantasy novel. Her favourite sub genres are Paranormal, Fantasy and some Scifi. Her most treasured authors are, Patricia Briggs, Ilona Andrews, Ann Aguirre, Lisa Kleypas and Tamora Pierce. She loves that discovery of finding a brand new author and falling in love with their books. Has also blogs a The Book Pushers - Book chatter and reviews

Share This Post

Subscribe and stay up-to-date

Via E-Mail:

Follow us via RSS, twitter and facebook:

5 Comments

Join the Discussion
  • Draconismoi August 23, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    Careful Has, suggesting a consumer-boycott due to homophobic practices brings out The Trolls!

    Though I will absolutely not buy anything from these assholes. Thankfully they do not own the rights to any series I am currently obsessed with. http://cedarfort.com/books.html

  • Diane August 23, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    Wild Things, yay!

  • JenM August 23, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    I didn’t realize Kathryne Kennedy was writing more in the Relics of Merlin series. I definitely be looking out for the new book.

  • aurian August 24, 2013 at 3:05 am

    Wow, he has to buy back the rights to his own book as they won’t publish it anyway? That sucks. I wanted to read the Mortal Instruments books, before I went and saw the movie, but I won’t be in a hurry so much.
    I did like Kathryne Kennedy’s relics of Merlin series much more than the Lords of Illusion series, so I am happy she continued it.

    • Alisha August 24, 2013 at 6:42 pm

      “I wanted to read the Mortal Instruments books, before I went and saw the movie, but I won’t be in a hurry so much.”

      Homie, I hurrrd that~ 🙂 Right there, that should teach those money hungry movie execs to cool their heels on green lighting every single successful YA series. Just because Twilight and Hunger Games were hits, doesn’t mean we need to get a new one every year, y’know?

  • Post your comment

Previous Post
«
Next Post
»
Luvo designed by Internet Marketing In conjunction with Template Wordpress , R4 DS , Best SUV.